C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Harnik, Elisabeth: Happiness lies within 



Basic information



  • Program notes: 

    Elisabeth Harnik: “Happiness lies within” for piano trio (2015)

    Happiness lies within was commissioned 2015 by Austrian Haydn Chamber Ensemble whose artistic focus lies on music of Joseph Haydn and his contemporaries.
    The commissioned work should make a reference to Haydn´s piano trios. Haydn´s experimental spirit and how he aimed at the impossible to reach the possible inspired me to write this daring and demanding work. There is a drive for me to obtain something “new” within a particular framework of conditions and thus to extend the boundaries.
    It´s a challenge to compose for an instrumentation with such a strong traditional connotation. How can a “classical” genre like the Piano Trio be redefined with today´s view?
    Building on the classical tradition to make the piano a central subject of the sonic discussion – if we look at Haydns´ piano trios we can find almost eccentric piano parts – I committed myself to the risky experiment in which I addressed this aspect and deliberately exaggerated it.




Total number of musicians: 
Musicians1st player2nd player



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.