C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

ISCM is an international network of members from around fifty countries, devoted to the promotion and presentation of contemporary music - the music of our time.


Isao Matsushita (1951-2018)

Isao Matsushita (photo courtesy of the Japan Federation of Composers)We were very sad to learn of the recent passing, on 16 September 2018, of Japanese composer and conductor Isao Matsushita, who also served as president of the Asian Composers League as well as president of the Japan Federation of Composers, and has been a fixture on the international contemporary music scene for over four decades.



Updated: 28/09/2018

Tomoko Fukui and George Kentros Elected to the ISCM Executive Committee


The current Executive Committee of the ISCM, pictured left to right: Frank J. Oteri, Peter Swinnen, Glenda Keam, Walter De Schepper, Tomoko Fukui, George Kentros, and Ol'ga Smetanová 

Japanese composer Tomoko Fukui and Swedish violinist George Kentros were newly elected to the Executive Committee of the International Society for Contemporary Music (ISCM) during the penultimate ISCM General Assembly held in the ballroom of the ...


Updated: 20/10/2018

Michael Seltenreich Wins the 2018 ISCM Young Composer Award

Michael SeltenreichIsraeli-born, USA-based composer Michael Seltenreich has been selected as the recipient of the 2018 ISCM Young Composers Award for his 2010 flute-clarinet-violin-'cello-piano-percussion sextet Sparks & Flares which was performed by the Ensemble Tempus Loquendi under the direction of Jiao Yang at the Central Conservatory of Music's Prince Mansion Concert Hall during the 2018...


Updated: 04/06/2018

In Memoriam ISCM Honorary Member Franz Eckert (1931-2017)

Dr. Franz Eckert during the 2008 ISCM World New Music Days in Vilnius, Lithuania. (All photos by Anna Dorota Władyczka.)It is with great sadness that we report the passing of longtime ISCM legal counsel and ISCM Honorary Member Franz Eckert on Thursday, November 16, 2017, at the age of 86. Dr. Eckert served as the ISCM’s legal counsel from 1971 to 2015. He was elected an ISCM Honorary Member for the great value of his...


Updated: 25/02/2018

R. Murray Schafer Voted First Canadian Honorary Member of ISCM

Photo courtesy of the composer via the Canadian Encyclopedia

At the opening 2017 General Assembly of the International Society for Contemporary Music (ISCM) in Vancouver, which is concurrent with its annual contemporary music festival, the ISCM World New Music Days, the membership of the ISCM unanimously voted to elect composer, educator, author, and acoustic ecology pioneer R. Murray Schafer as an Honorary Member of the ISCM. The first Canadian to be so honored since the Society...


Updated: 17/02/2018

ISCM WMD 2019 Tallinn

Through the Forest of Songs

Date: 02/05/2019 to 10/05/2019
Place: Tallinn


Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.