C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Ratniece, Santa - F - Latvia 




Latvian composer  Santa Ratniece started her musical studies with piano playing classes at Valmiera Music School. In 1992 she took up music theory classes in Emils Dārziņš College of Music in Riga. She continued her musical education at J.Vītols Latvia  Music Academy and  graduated  in musicology (2000) and in composition (2002). Later on she studied composition  with  English composer David Rowland at Enschede Conservatory in Netherlands. Afterwards Santa Ratniece went on with her studies at Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre with Estonian composer Helena Tulve and in 2007 she obtained her MA.
Santa Ratniece first came into public view in 2004 after winning the 1st prize at the 2004 UNESCO International Rostrum of Composers in Paris for her work sens nacre (in the category of composers under 30) Santa Ratniece`s music has been played by Latvian Radio Choir, Sinfonietta Riga, Altera Veritas, Liepaja Symphony Amber Sound Orchestra, NYYD Ensemble, Ensemble Resonabilis, (Estonia), Ensemble Sarband, Ensemble Recherche, Leipziger Blaserquintett, Ensemble Avantgarde,  Ensemble RARO, (Germany), Arditti Quartet (England), Nederlands Kamerkoor, Cappella Amsterdam (The Netherlands), Musiques Nouvelles (Belgium) Quatuor Molinari (Canada), Sydney Symphony Fellows (Australia), SOCO Ensemble (Uruguay), Kronos Quartet, The Crossing choir, ICE Ensemble (United States), ConTempo Quartet (Rumania). Santa Ratniece has been twice (2013, 2015) a composer in residence in Visby International Centre for composers in Sweden.





Works in ISCM catalogue