C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Nas, Mayke - F - Netherlands 




Mayke Nas (Netherlands, 1972) studied piano and composition. She received commissions from amongst others Eighth Blackbird (USA), Nederlands Studenten Orkest, Koninklijk Concertgebouw Orkest, Ragazze Kwartet, BlIndman (BE), Nieuw Ensemble, Hexnut, Calefax, Slagwerk Den Haag, Neue Vocal Solisten Stuttgart (DE), Rotterdams Philharmonisch Orkest, Ensemble Continuum (CA) and Schönberg Ensemble.

For her piece (w)here, written for the Asko Ensemble and co-commissioned by Festival November Music & Fonds voor de Scheppende Toonkunst, she was awarded the Matthijs Vermeulen Price of Encouragement 2003. For La Chocolatière Brûlée - written for the Nieuw Ensemble - she received the Anjer Muziekprijs 2005.

Theatre, video, text and choreography are often an integrated part of her compositions. In 2005 she adapted I Delayed People's Flights By Walking Slowly In Narrow Hallways for four players, four chairs and four amplified chalkboards with live-electronics from Peter Handke's play 'Self-Accusation' for Percussion Group The Hague in collaboration with Wouter Snoei. In 2006, she revived the concept of audience-participation in the fluxus-inspired performance-piece Anyone can do it for six completely unprepaired players, not necessarily gifted with any musical talent.

For the 2011-2012 season Mayke Nas was awarded an artist-in-residence fellowship in Berlin by the DAAD. In 2016 she is awarded with the title of ambassador for classical new music in the Netherlands for two years as composer of the nation.





Works in ISCM catalogue



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.