C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Lazkano, Ramon - M - Spain 




Ramon Lazkano (San Sebastian, 1968) received a First Prize of Composition at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique of Paris and a DEA degree from the Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales. He was awarded with the Prince Pierre de Monaco Foundation Prize and the Georges Bizet Prize by the French Academy of Fine Arts, and was resident composer for the Joven Orquesta Nacional de España, for the Ensemble 2e2m and at the Strasbourg Musica Festival.

His residency in Rome (Royal Academy of Spain and Academy of France) allowed him to carry out a reflection on intertextuality, silence and the experience of sound, giving birth to pieces as emblematic as Ilunkor, commissioned by the Euskadiko Orkestra Sinfonikoa in 2001 and played last by the Bayerischer Rundfunk Symphonieorchester conducted by Peter Eötvös at the 2012 Munich Musica Viva series.
Between 2001 and 2011, Ramon Lazkano worked on Igeltsoen Laborategia (Chalk Laboratory), a large collection of chamber music pieces divided into various cycles, which echo sculptor Jorge Oteiza's "experimental laboratory". The pieces of the Laboratory were premiered in Austria, Germany, Poland, Mexico, France and Spain; the ensemble recherche in Frankfurt, Ensemble 2e2m in Paris, Ars Musica in Brussels and the Monday Evening Concerts in Los Angeles programmed portrait-concerts of the Laboratory.

Recent works include Lurralde (Territory) string quartet, written for the Quatuor Diotima, as well as the diptych after Edmond Jabès's poems: Main Surplombe, for soprano and ensemble, premiered in March 2013 at Ars Musica Brussels and Ceux à Qui, for six voices and eight instruments, premiered by the Neue Vocalsolisten and the Ensemble L'Instant Donné at the Éclat Festival in Stuttgart in February 2015 and programmed by the Talea Ensemble in New York in December 2016.

In 2016, the Festival d'Automne à Paris offered a portrait in three concerts, including the commission and the premiere of Ravel (Scènes), as well as extracts from the Laboratory of Chalks by the Ensemble Intercontemporain conducted by Matthias Pintscher.





Works in ISCM catalogue



Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.