C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Hirsch, Liisa - F - Estonia 




Liisa Hirsch - Biography
Liisa Hirsch graduated from the Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre in Prof.
Toivo Tulev’s composition class. Hirsch has taught improvisation at Tallinn
Music High School and worked as music director at the Estonian Drama
Theatre. This year she finished her MA studies at the Royal Conservatory in the
Hague under Peter Adriaansz and Cornelis de Bondt. In 2015, Hirsch’s composition
“Ascending...Descending” for solo violin and string orchestra, was chosen to be one
of the recommended pieces in International Rostrum of Composers.
Liisa Hirsch’s music is characterised by sensitivity to timbre, intense focus on sound,
solid structure and purity of form. Hirsch has composed music also for film and
theatre and oftentimes she collaborates with choreographers and dancers.
Lately, she has been seeking to further the means of listening and concentration in
her music. Latest sources of inspiration in her work have been her meetings and
music-makings with composers Christian Wolff, Antoine Beuger and Alvin Lucier.
Recent activities:
In the Summer 2014 she collaborated with dancers in Finland and Estonia, worked
on an experimental piece called “Glides” together with danish Ensemble “Figura”
and Garth Knox, and in September some of her music was performed in Gaudeamus
Musicweek in Utrecht and Musica Sacra Festival in Maastricht. This August, her
piece “Cloud Tones” for Viola and Piano Glides, was premiered in Ostrava New
Music Days 2015.



Works in ISCM catalogue