C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Honorary Member

In Memoriam ISCM Honorary Member Franz Eckert (1931-2017)





Dr. Franz Eckert during the 2008 ISCM World New Music Days in Vilnius, Lithuania. (All photos by Anna Dorota Władyczka.)It is with great sadness that we report the passing of longtime ISCM legal counsel and ISCM Honorary Member Franz Eckert on Thursday, November 16, 2017, at the age of 86. Dr. Eckert served as the ISCM’s legal counsel from 1971 to 2015.


R. Murray Schafer Voted First Canadian Honorary Member of ISCM





Photo courtesy of the composer via the Canadian EncyclopediaAt the opening 2017 General Assembly of the International Society for Contemporary Music (ISCM) in Vancouver, which is concurrent with its annual contemporary music festival, the ISCM World New Music Days, the membership of the ISCM unanimously voted to elect composer, educator, author, and acoustic ecology pioneer R. Murray Schafer as an Honorary Member of the ISCM.


Klaus Huber (1924-2017)





Klaus Huber in May 2012 (Photo by Harald Rehling) Reprinted with permission,

Swiss composer, conductor and violinist Klaus Huber, a towering figure in modern music and an honorary member of the ISCM (since 1994), has died at the age of 92 in Perugia, Italy.


ISCM World Music Days 2015 in Slovenia





The next ISCM World Music Days will take place in Slovenia from September 26 to October 2, 2015. All information can be seen on the festival website.


Reinhard Oehlschlägel (1936-2014)





We are very sad to note the passing of our honorary member Reinhard Oehlschlägel in Cologne on April 29, 2014.


Kaija Saariaho Elected ISCM Honorary Member 2012





Kaija SaariahoIn the General Assembly of the ISCM in Belgium 2012, the Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho was unanimously elected as Honorary Member. Born in 1952 in Finland, Kaija Saariaho lived a childhood embedded in music, playing several instruments. In parallel to musical studies, she started art studies, at the Fine Arts School of Helsinki, that she quickly quit to concentrate on music.


Louis Andriessen elected Honorary Member





Louis Andriessen was born in Utrecht on June 6, 1939. After an early training in composition with his father, composer Hendrik Andriessen, he continued his studies with Kees van Baaren at the Royal Conservatory of The Hague. Receiving the major composition prize upon his graduation, Andriessen subsequently studied two years with Luciano Berio in Milan (1962-'63) and Berlin (1964-'65).


Yori-Aki Matsudaira elected ISCM Honorary Member





Yori-Aki Matsudaira (1931- ) was the President of the Japanese Section from 1998 to 2002. As you may remember, in 2001, he successfully organized the World Music Days in Yokohama, and in the Festival, he was also the chair of the Juries to select the pieces from every sections.