C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

D0 note (18.35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

C0 note (16,35 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

F0 note (21.83 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

G0 note (24.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

A0 note (27.50 Hz) — vibrating on liquid surface

Competitions' Result






Overwhelming minimal music, wringing soundscapes, experimental electronics, post-pop, electro-acoustic crossovers: all this can be heard from 6 – 10 September during Gaudeamus Muziekweek in Utrecht.








The Mercosur Cultural Network reports that the outstanding argentinian composer Alicia Terzian has been awarded the MERCOSUR CULTURAL NETWORK, award for her outstanding work in the field of creation as well as diffusion of contemporary music within the country and around the world. Read more...



Anthony Vine wins Gaudeamus Award 2016





The 70th edition of Gaudeamus Muziekweek has come to an end. After the closing concert in TivoliVredenburg on Sunday 11 September the winner of the Gaudeamus Award 2016 was announced. From the hands of director Henk Heuvelmans composer Anthony Vine (1988, USA) received the prestigious award. Vine is now included in the respectable hall of fame with previous winning composers such as Yannis Kyriakides, Michel van der Aa and Louis Andriessen.



Luca Francesconi wins RPS Music Award





Luca Francesconi is the first Italian composer to win the prestigious Royal Philharmonic Society Music Award. He is awarded in the Large-Scale Composition category for his violin concerto Duende: The Dark Notes. The annual RPS Music Awards, presented in association with BBC Radio 3, are the highest recognition for live classical music in the UK.



International Rostrum of Composers 2016





Partendo, Lasciando le erbe tali quali sono (2015) for countertenor and ensemble by Swiss composer Oscar BIANCHI (born 1975) and Langedes ülespoole, taeva kaarjasse kaussi (falling up into the bowl of sky), by young Estonian composer Maria Kõrvits (born 1987) are the works selected by radio music producers participating in the 63rd International Rostrum of Composers (IRC) held in Wroclaw, from May 16 to 21, 2016.



Georges Aperghis wins BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award





The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in the Contemporary Music category goes in this eighth edition to Georges Aperghis for reinventing musical theater and taking it in entirely new directions. “He has opened up a unique path in the territory of musical theater employing new scenic devices whereby everything becomes music, starting from the performer’s gestures and including sounds made by scenic elements or objects used as percussion instruments,” in the words of the jury’s citation.



Results os the Frederic Mompou International Award 2016





The jury of the 36th Young composer competition for the Frederic Mompou International Award, organized by Joventuts Musicals de Barcelona, met. The panel of judges was made up of Antonio Ballestín, Carles Guinovart, Víctor Estapé, Jesús Rodríguez Picó and Jesús Rueda and assisted by Miquel M. Badal in his position as secretary of the jury.



The ninth biennal competition for acousmatic competition





The 9th Métamorphoses Acousmatic Composition Competition, organized by Musiques et Recherches and held in occasion of the 23th International Acousmatic Festival Espace du Son (Marni Theatre, Brussels, the 19th of October 2016) has attributed the following prizes: First prize: Mirtru Escalona-Mijares - L’ermitage au toit de chaume Special Mention:Enrico Fiocco - Odissea Prize of the Public ex-aequo: , Sophie Delafontaine - Ressort Spiral and Rafaël Muñoz Gomez - Stuck jury: Jean-Pierre Deleuze, Franc



2015 British Composer Award





Robert Saxton has been nominated for a 2015 British Composer Award. His work Sonata for Brass Band on a Prelude of Orlando Gibbons has been shortlisted in the Wind Band or Brass Band category. Composed and published in 2014, Sonata for Brass Band on a Prelude of Orlando Gibbons was commissioned by Peter Bassano for the City of Cambridge Brass Band, with funds provided by the Golland Trust and the RVW.



Alexander Khubeev wins Gaudeamus Award 2015





Alexander Khubeev Gaudeamus awardRussian composer receives coveted international award in Utrecht Gaudeamus Muziekweek 2015 has had its energetic grand finale with Slagwerkgroep Den Haag (Percussion Group The Hague), pianist Niels Broos (Kytopia) and dancers from Club Guy & Roni this Sunday 13 September in TivoliVredenburg, Utrecht. After the closing concert the winner of the Gaudeamus Award 2015 was announced.




Content posted to the ISCM website reflects the viewpoint of individual submitters; its appearance herein does not imply official endorsement by the ISCM, its Executive Committee, or the Delegates to its General Assembly.